Saturday, 19 November 2011

Resetting Game Progress doesn't work for New Player Account

Previously I transferred my old iPhone 3G data to my new iPhone 4S using iTune's "restore from backup" function.  Because for the "Cut The Rope" games, the iPhone 3G scores are different from the iPhone 4S scores, I tried to avoid mixing them by resetting the game progress for my "Cut The Rope" games.

But I just realized that I should have deleted the "Cut The Rope" apps from my iPhone 4S to wipe out all the game data instead, because even after resetting the game progress and choosing a new "Crystal" player account, the "Crystal" leaderboards treated the scores for my new player account as invalid and showed them as "n/a", and I couldn't gain any achievement in both "Crystal" and "Game Center".

After deleting the apps and reinstalling them, then I can post scores and gain achievements for my new player account in both "Crystal" and "Game Center".  Now I have to replay all over again and I wasted several hours of my time.  I should have logged in "Crystal" earlier to check.

"Game Center" has another weird problem.  I already reset the scores for my "Cut The Rope" games but when I accessed "Game Center", my old scores were posted in its leaderboards and they were not my most recent ones some more.  For example, for "Foil Box" in "Cut The Rope" I already improved its score to 142,830 pts recently (in "Crystal") but the "Game Center" displayed an old score of 142,660 pts.  When I restored my phone data from backup, I chose the most recent one.

I write this just in case some other players wonder why I posted my old iPhone 3G scores for my new iPhone 4S player account in the "Game Center".


David

1 comment: